The cobbler’s children

Ok.  I have a confession to make.  My family is tragically under-photographed.

You would think that a photographer mom would have her walls plastered with prints of her gorgeous offspring.  But no.  “The cobbler’s children have no shoes” and my walls have no prints.  (Ok I have 3 prints…but that’s still pretty sad.)  I’m sure I’m not the only parent who gets so wrapped up in work for clients that they run out of energy to use their own trade for their family. Balancing work and family life is a struggle for many.  And a perfect balance probably isn’t attainable…but we try for it anyway.

So here is my new step towards balance: bad pictures of my kids.

Well, not “bad” exactly, but not perfect, not “professional”.  Not setting up lights, and brushing hair, and taking dozens (ok hundreds) of pictures till I get the one with just the right expression. But setting aside my pride and just embracing the moment and (glup) the flaws.

These are moments I don’t want to miss.

Leave a Reply

